Woonsocket Thermal Conversion Facility

Synagro renovated and expanded an existing structure located adjacent to the City of Woonsocket. The Woonsocket Thermal Conversion Facility has demonstrated its leadership as an environmental steward as the first facility in the nation to employ a wet electrostatic precipitator on a biosolids combustion system. This breakthrough innovation is now considered by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to be the best available control technology for all biosolids combustion units. Upgrades have allowed for maximizing fuel efficiency and minimizing emissions while increasing capacity and allowing more area generators to participate. Synagro also delivers a logistics and trucking operation, which provides a complete turnkey, cost-effective management program.

Facility Information

Woonsocket Thermal Conversion Facility

Thermal Reduction

15 Cumberland Hill Road
Woonsocket, RI 02895


198 launch
90% reduction in biosolids volume
105 dry tons of daily biosolids processing capacity
5 dewatering centrifuges
25-30 area municipalities send either liquid or cake forms of biosolids


  • Jewett City and Thompson, Connecticut
  • Douglas Wastewater Treatment Facility
  • Edgartown Sewage Treatment Plant
  • Fairhaven Department of Public Works
  • Hopedale Wastewater Treatment Facility
  • Mansfield Water Pollution Control Facility, Milford
  • New Bedford Wastewater Treatment Plant
  • North Attleborough Wastewater Treatment Facility
  • Oxford/Rochdale Sewer District
  • Somerset Water Pollution Control Facility
  • Spencer Wastewater Treatment Facility
  • Tisbury Wastewater Treatment Facility
  • Wareham, Webster, and Wrentham Development Center, Massachusetts
  • Burrillville Wastewater Treatment Facility
  • City of Woonsocket
  • East Greenwich
  • East Providence
  • East Providence
  • Narragansett Bay Commission in Bucklin Point and Field’s Point
  • Narragansett Wastewater Treatment Plant
  • Newport (SUEZ)
  • Quonset Point Wastewater Treatment Facility
  • South Kingstown
  • Toray Plastics (America), Inc.
  • Warren United Water Service
  • Warwick Sewer Authority
  • West Warwick Wastewater Treatment Plant
  • Westerly – CH2M
  • Zambarano Unit/Eleanor Slater, Rhode Island